Genres? Restrictions.

Hey all 🙂

I love music. I listen to it every day. It makes me smile 🙂

Being a musician myself, I appreciate the hard work it takes for people to get their own music out there.

Music is a great way to express your innermost feelings…

So who the hell created genres?

More to the point, why would anyone only choose to stick to one genre in particular?

I don’t care what kind of music I listen to. Rap, metal, jazz, hardcore, ska, classical etc. If it has a good message, i’ll listen to it.

To me, music is all about the lyrics. Not that I don’t care about the instruments. Quite the opposite in fact. Instruments create the grounds on which the lyrics can roll forth more easily into our ears. But the lyrics….they are the HEART.

Being a 90’s kid, mainstream music has greatly disappointed me. I constantly hear songs on the radio that are about drinking and partying (don’t get me wrong, everyone’s entitled to have fun in whatever way they choose), and very little of real meaningful topics such as the hardships we face in our world, spirituality, corruption etc.

When I do hear a song with good lyrics though, I just stop….and take it all in 🙂

Anyways, my question to you is, why put such a restriction on yourself by only choosing to listen to a single, or select few, genres?

Peace and love 🙂

2 thoughts on “Genres? Restrictions.

  1. enjoiben374

    You raise a very true point.
    I myself pretty much enjoy everything other than what is currently in the charts. The sad truth is chart music is not a true representation of what the public are listening too. More and more people are looking elsewhere for music and that is a great thing. To me music is good if you can hear the passion that has gone into making it. I am tired of one hit wonders, fame falling onto the laps of these people who decide to put their dignity on the line for some awful manufactured competition. I hate that gangsters only listen to gangster rap, and “emo’s” only listen to “screamo”, I also hate labelling but that’s another point 😛

    Reply
    1. peacewalkertruthseeker Post author

      Ugh, don’t even get me started on those stupid shows like Idol and The Voice. They’re ruining the music scene!

      I guess the reason why some people only listen to specific genres is because they feel the need to maintain their “image” (e.g. Gangsters – Rap)…..just another thing that is wrong with society these days :/

      Reply

Got something you'd like to say? :)

